View RSS Feed

Para_Frog

The Newbie Chronicles - My first year in BASE - Part One: "The" Harvey

Rating: 7 votes, 4.71 average.
The Newbie Chronicles – My first year in BASE

My name is Chris Harvey. I have no need for anonymity. As a former cop, I know that that the objects I have jumped that could be considered in the ether of the legal gray area are in places where the cops have better shit to do than track me down. I also don’t do repeats within at least several months of each other. It’s called keeping objects cold. You paying attention Dave? I don’t jump NPS land – which is another story completely. Although before I leave this Earth, and if we haven’t managed legal access by then, I do intend to jump El Capitan – buck naked down to my boots – with a very loud hidey-ho and a bakalaka before I jump. I’ll take my licks.

I’m a 38 year-old Cavalry Officer in the US Army, and a former US Marine, who is fortunate enough to have married his best friend after several attempts at marriage that failed for any number of reasons. I have a young daughter and six, yes six, fantastic step-kids whom I love as my very own - three girls and three boys.

I am their rock star.

I am a BASE jumper.

Part One – “The” Harvey

BASE is more of an enigma than just about any other thing in this world. It really is. It is, on its surface, unquestionably the most selfish human endeavor outside of suicide. Until you have actually studied the science behind BASE jumping, and developed an understanding of the calculated and comprehensive risk management involved, you will never shed that empirical view of the sport. It’s hard-wired in our nature and how most people will always view it. To expect anyone outside the sport to understand it as more is unreasonable. It is that dearth of cerebral connection that causes us to coalesce into the rag-tag band of misfits that we are. Only BASE jumpers understand BASE jumpers.